Parks & Rec Commission

Parks Logo
Park Collage


"The mission of the San Juan County Parks and Recreation Commission is to protect, promote, and enhance our County Parks and recreational opportunities, in keeping with the natural character and beauty of the islands, for the benefit of current and future generations."

The San Juan County Parks and Recreation Commission is a seven member volunteer commission appointed by the County Council. The Parks Commission is made up of two members each from San Juan, Orcas and Lopez Islands and one member from Shaw Island. Commission members are asked to serve a six-year term on the basis of their interest and experience in promoting park activities in San Juan County. 


Regular meetings of the Parks Commission are held on the 2nd Thursday of each month, via Microsoft Teams, in Friday Harbor, unless otherwise ordered by the Executive Committee.  Please refer to current agenda for log-in information.  Alternately, meetings may be held on Orcas, Lopez, and Shaw Islands as needed. Members of the public are welcome to attend.

Parks and Recreation Commission Members

  • Tex Blankenburg, Chair, San Juan Island
  • Cy Field, Shaw Island
  • Mehgan Alexandra, Lopez Island
  • Johannes Krieger, San Juan Island
  • Heather Oaksen, Orcas Island
  • Margaret Payne, Orcas Island
  • Bill McGown, Vice Chair, Lopez Island
  • Christine Minney, County Council Liaison