Voter Eligibility

Washington State encourages every eligible person to register to vote and particpate fully in all elections.  Each of us is responsible for protecting the integrity of the electoral process by providing equal access, and guarding against fraud and discrimation.

To register to vote, you must be:

  • A citizen of the United States
  • A legal resident of Washington state for at least 30 days prior to election day
  • At least 18 years old
    • If you are 16 or 17, you can sign up as a Future Voter and be automatically registered to vote when you qualify
  • Not disqualified from voting due to a court order
  • Not currently serving a sentence of total confinement in prison under the jurisdiction of the department of corrections for a Washington felony conviction
  • Not currently incarcerated for a federal or out-of-state felony conviction

You must be a citizen of the United States. If you have questions about citizenshop, contact U.S. Citizenship and Immagrations Services. 

You must be resident of Washington State. Your voting residence is your permanent address or a transitional address or transitional address where you physically reside. MORE>>

Future Voter Program
In Washington State, 16- and 17-year-olds can sign up aas Future Voters and be automatically registered to vote when they become eligible. A voter who turnes 18 between the August Primary and the Novembe General Election can vote in the Primary (RCW 29A.08.170).  

Felons & Voting Rights
If you were convicted of a felony in Washington State, another state, or in federal court, your right to vote will be restored automatically as long as you are not currently serving a sentence of total confinement in prison.  MORE>>

Mental Competency and Voting Rights
Only a Superior Court can declare a person ineligible to vote due to mental incompentency. A guardian may not vote on behalf of the person under guardianship, and power of attorney does not extend to voting.    MORE>>

Do Not

  • Submit false information on a voter registration application;
  • Register in more than one location; or
  • Accept payment, or offer to pay another, to register to vote.

If you have witnessed, or been a victim of, fraud or discrimination you may submit a Voter Complaint  with the Office of Secretary of State.